TESS Science Conference I

July 29 - Aug 2 2019, MIT / Cambridge, USA

The TESS Science Conference I will be the first conference dedicated to TESS mission science, including exoplanets, asteroseismology, stellar binaries, variable stars, Solar System science (e.g., asteroids and comets), extragalactic astronomy (e.g., active galactic nuclei and supernovae), and any other science that can be done with TESS data. The conference will cover all aspects of the mission, from TESS data analysis, through follow-up observations, to the impact of discoveries made with TESS data on theoretical understanding. The conference will take place at the beginning of TESS’s second year of operations when the satellite is scheduled to transition from surveying the Southern ecliptic hemisphere to the Northern ecliptic hemisphere. This will be an auspicious time to bring together experts on all aspects of the mission to discuss the achievements made during the first year, as well as identifying potential improvements and lessons learned to be implemented in the second year.


To contact the SOC or LOC write to: tsc1@mit.edu

  • Suzanne Aigrain - University of Oxford
  • Jayne Birkby - University of Amsterdam
  • Padi Boyd - NASA Goddard
  • Nat Butler - Arizona State University
  • Dave Charbonneau - Center for Astrophysics Harvard & Smithsonian
  • Jessie Christiansen (co-chair) - NExScI
  • Bekki Dawson - Pennsylvania State University
  • Courtney Dressing - UC Berkeley
  • Eric Gaidos - University of Hawaii
  • Andrew Howard - Caltech
  • Hans Kjeldsen - Aarhus University
  • George Ricker - MIT
  • Sara Seager - MIT
  • Ben Shappee - University of Hawaii
  • Avi Shporer (co-chair) - MIT
  • Jennifer van Saders - University of Hawaii
  • Josh Winn - Princeton University


To contact the SOC or LOC write to: tsc1@mit.edu

  • Diana Dragomir - MIT
  • Aylin Garcia Soto - MIT
  • Moritz Guenther - MIT
  • Elisabeth Matthews - MIT
  • Avi Shporer (chair) - MIT