TESS Science Conference II

Aug 2 - 6 2021, Online

  • February 4th: Open abstract submission (Talks and posters, Splinter sessions)
  • March 29: Open registration.
  • April 2nd: Splinter session abstract deadline.
  • April 30: Talks and posters abstract deadline.
  • June 11: Announcement of decision on abstracts.
  • July 1st: Registration deadline.
  • July 10: Late posters abstract submission deadline.
  • July 23: Posters upload deadline.
  • August 1st: Virtual opening reception (19:00 - 21:00 UT, 15:00 - 17:00 EDT).
  • August 2nd: The first day of the conference.

The TESS Science Conference II (TSC2) is timed at the beginning of the 2nd year of the TESS Extended Mission, and the 4th year overall. The conference will cover all science done with TESS data, from Solar System (asteroids, trans-neptunian objects, comets), through exoplanets and stellar astrophysics (asteroseismology, variable stars, stellar binaries), to extragalactic astronomy (supernovae, AGN, TDEs). The conference will focus on all aspects of the mission: TESS data analysis techniques developed by the community, follow-up observations of targets identified using TESS data, and how discoveries made with TESS data impact theoretical understanding.

This will be the second in a series of TESS Science Conferences. The first TESS Science Conference website is available here.

Feedback Survey: Please provide your feedback about the confernece in this short online survey, to help us plan and improve future TESS Science Conferences.

Invited Speakers and Panelists

  • Ruth Angus - American Museum of Natural History
  • Juliette Becker - Caltech
  • Willy Benz - University of Bern
  • Ann Marie Cody - NASA Ames Research Center
  • Jason Curtis - Columbia University
  • Michael Fausnaugh - MIT
  • Jason Eastman - Harvard Smithsonian CfA
  • Adina Feinstein - University of Chicago
  • Christina Hedges - NASA Ames Research Center
  • Rodrigo Luger - Flatiron Institute
  • Susan Mullally - STScI
  • Matt Payne - Harvard Smithsonian CfA
  • May G. Pedersen - University of California Santa Barbara
  • Heike Rauer - German Aerospace Center
  • George Ricker - MIT
  • Róbert Szakáts - Konkoly Observatory
  • Jamie Tayar - University of Hawaii
  • Johanna Teske - Carnegie Earth & Planets Lab
  • Daniel Thorngren - Université de Montréal
  • Giovanna Tinetti - University College London
  • Diana Valencia - University of Toronto
  • Andrew Vanderburg - University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Roland Vanderspek - MIT
  • Deborah Woods - MIT Lincoln Laboratory
  • George Zhou - University of Southern Queensland

Splinter Sessions

Splinter Sessions are organized independently (lead organizers are listed below) and are each 1-2 hours long. They are designed to focus on specific topics in more detail than possible in the plenary sessions.

  • Ultra Short Period Planets (Brian Jackson - Boise State University)
  • Tools for Analyzing TESS Data (Rebekah Hounsell - University of Maryland, Baltimore County)
  • SETI with TESS (Ann Marie Cody - NASA Ames Research Center)
  • Machine Learning Applications for TESS Data (David Armstrong - University of Warwick)
  • CHEOPS and TESS Synergies (Hugh Osborn - MIT)
  • Atmospheric Characterization (Tansu Daylan - MIT)
  • TESS FFIs Light Curve Pipelines (Sam Grunblatt - American Museum of Natural History)
  • Planets Around Young Stars (Louise Nielsen - Oxford University)


To contact the SOC or LOC write to: tsc2@mit.edu

  • Tim Bedding - University of Sydney
  • Megan Bedell - Flatiron Institute
  • Jennifer Burt (co-Chair) - Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Knicole Colon - Goddard Space Flight Center
  • Caroline Dorn - University of Zurich
  • JJ Hermes - Boston University
  • Chelsea Huang - University of Southern Queensland
  • Hans Kjeldsen - Aarhus University
  • Ben Montet - University of New South Wales
  • Caroline Morley - UT Austin
  • Andras Pal - Konkoly Observatory
  • Sam Quinn - Harvard Smithsonian CfA
  • George Ricker - MIT
  • Leslie Rogers - University of Chicago
  • Ben Shappee - University of Hawaii
  • Avi Shporer (co-Chair) - MIT
  • Jennifer van Saders - University of Hawaii


To contact the SOC or LOC write to: tsc2@mit.edu

  • Elisabeth Adams - PSI
  • James Davenport - UW
  • Moritz Guenther - MIT
  • Rahul Jayaraman - MIT
  • Avi Shporer (chair) - MIT
  • Evan Tey - MIT
  • Joel Villasenor - MIT